With medical marijuana, you don’t have to pay the 15% sales tax or 15% excise tax that you would for recreational purchases. Medical marijuana is only subject to a 2.9% state sales tax.
As a patient, you also have access to certain deals, such as veteran and hardship discounts.
Recreational products are available to anyone 21 and older.
Medical cannabis is available to Colorado residents 18 and older. Patients under 21 must provide medical records and certifications from two providers.
As a medical cannabis patient, you can legally buy two ounces of marijuana per day. Adult use consumers are permitted one ounce daily.
Medical patients can grow up to 12 plants, compared to six plants for recreational use. You can also receive permission to grow, buy, and carry additional amounts.
By Colorado law, medical cannabis patients have access to a percentage of all products. Therefore, some items are set aside strictly for medical use.
Also, certain types of products are only available with a medical card. As a recreational consumer, there’s no guarantee of product availability.
How much does it cost to get a medical card?
There are costs associated with getting approved for medical cannabis through Relaxed Clarity. Discounts are available for veterans, healthcare professionals, and industry workers (contact us to learn more).
Returning minor patient (two visits required): $200
New adult minor patient*: $220
New adult minor patient follow up (valid for 6 months): $100
Returning adult minor patient (valid for 1 year): $200
*Adult minors are over 18, but under 21 years old. By Colorado law, adult minors must be seen by two providers, which includes a 6-month follow-up visit.
Ready to get started?
If you’re interested in applying for a medical marijuana card in Colorado, we’re here to support you. When you’re ready, find a clinic near you and contact us to book an appointment. We’ll take you through the process, step by step!